Brewess

The Blog for Women Who Brew Beer

Apricot Ale

Posted by Maggie on May 14, 2011

I now that fruity beer isn’t for everyone, but I have always loved Pyramid’s Apricot Ale.  For Christmas I got some Brewcraft apricot natural fruit flavor so I tried it in this batch.  OMG, it is YUM!  So easy too.  Perfect for summer (although it is cold and rainy now.   Brrr.)  The color is really nice too.

I haven’t tried this yeast before.  It is hard to tell how it affected the flavor since I added the apricot.  It certainly fermented nicely and left no strange flavors.  This recipe is for a three gallon batch.

  • 1 lb. Belgian Pilsner malt
  • 3 lbs. light malt extract
  • .75 oz. Fuggle at 60 minutes and .25 oz. at 5 minutes.
  • WYeast 1056 American Ale
  • 3 oz. Apricot Brewcraft Natural Fruit Flavor added before bottling (right in the bottling bucket)
  • 2/3 cup priming sugar

Due to both fear of contamination and pure laziness, I stopped measuring the alcohol level in my beer (and yes I have gotten grief about this.)  I would say that this particular beer is stronger than my normal brews.   Maybe I should use a bit less DME next time to get a lighter beer.  I can’t drink more than one of these.  But I want to.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.