Brewess

The Blog for Women Who Brew Beer

Truly Delicious Kolsch Ale #6

Posted by Maggie on May 10, 2010

I had dinner with some friends last night.  I brought along two different Kolsch ales I had brewed.  #6 was the preferred one.  It has only been in the bottle for four weeks.  It might get even better!  This recipe is for three gallons.

  • 3 lbs. Pilsen DME
  • Specialty Malts: 0.5 lb Belgian Pale Ale Barley, 0.5 lb Caravienna, 0.25 lb Crystal 40
  • Hops (pellets): 0.5 oz. Fuggle at 60 min. and 0.5 oz. Amarillo at 5 min.
  • Kolsch Yeast, White Labs WLP02

I used the yeast left over in the bottom of the carboy from Kolsch #5.  It started fermenting just fine.   The big difference in flavor between #5 and #6 is the hops.  The Fuggle and Amarillo hops are really nice.  The Fuggle smells so good itself in its little package.  I keep sniffing it.  I only started using it because one of my kids picked it out, due to the silly name.  Now it’s my favorite hops.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.