Brewess

The Blog for Women Who Brew Beer

My Next Beer – ‘European’ Ale #9

Posted by Maggie on May 15, 2010

Next week, I will be brewing a European Ale (so named for the yeast) with the following ingredients for a three-gallon batch:

  • Specialty Malts:  0.5 lb. Honey Malt, 0.5 lb. Caravienna
  • 3 lb. Pilsen DME (this will be a light summer beer for hot days)
  • Hops:  0.5 oz. Cascade at 60 min. and 0.5 oz. Amarillo at 10 min.
  • European Ale Yeast, White Labs 011

I suspect that the Amarillo will give it a slightly bitter finish to balance the honey malt.  Hopefully not too bitter.   I will post comments in the future on how it comes out.

Jun 26:  This sat in the primary fermenter for a week and then I racked it to a three gallon carboy and let it sit for 2 more week.  It has now been in the bottle for two weeks and is quite good.  I don’t like it as well as #7 but it is better than #10, which had the same yeast but did not have a secondary fermentation and started at a warmer temperature.

I have noticed that some of the bottles are far more carbonated than others.  Either the priming sugar was not mixed into the brew well or the yeast was uneven.

Now that the bottles have sat for longer, I think that this is just too bland.  It would be fine if you are used to Bud, but it isn’t as good as some of the other recipes I have tried.  I don’t like really hoppy ales but this isn’t hoppy enough.   Maybe the yeast also makes a blander brew.  Well, there are only a couple of bottles left so it won’t go to waste. (Only to my waist perhaps.  Ha ha ha.)

Leave a Reply

