Brewess

The Blog for Women Who Brew Beer

Choosing a Sanitizer

Posted by smolove on June 5, 2010

I don’t know about you, but the sanitation imperative in beermaking causes some obsessive compulsive and paranoid tendencies to surface for me.  I am curious what sanitizing methods other brewers use, and what they believe the pros and cons are.

The sanitizer of choice among winemakers is potassium metabisulfite, and since I got my start homebrewing with my pops who is a winemaker, I have adopted potassium metabisulfite as my sanitzer of choice.  I like it because I don’t really have to rinse my equipment after sanitizing (sulfites are a preservative and good for bottling), it’s inexpensive, small quantities go a long way, and I  keep a spray bottle (1 tsp per quart of water) which allows me to quickly and conveniently sanitize anything (thermometers before each use, bungs, syphons, caps, etc.) without having to worry about stains (iodine) or rinsing (bleach).  The spray bottle rocked my world… love it.

With that said, as of yet I don’t have a wort chiller, which leaves my wort exposed at very favorable temperatures for bacterial growth for extended periods of time, but so far I haven’t had any problems.  Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

