Brewess

The Blog for Women Who Brew Beer

Kolsch Ale #11

Posted by Maggie on June 12, 2010

This is what I am brewing right now.  This will be a three gallon batch.  It smells great while boiling away on the stove.

  • Specialty Malts:  1 lb. Pale Ale  (Organic)
  • Malt  Extract: 3 lbs. Pale DME (Organic)
  • Hops:  .5 oz Amarillo and .5 oz. Cascade at 60 minutes.  .5 oz. Liberty at 10 minutes.
  • Yeast: Kolsch Ale yeast from White Labs

This is the first time I have used three different types of hops in one brew.  All of these hops smell soooo good.  I hope that this will be delicious.

I also bottled European Ale #9 today.  It had been in a secondary fermentation carboy for a little more than 2 weeks.  I bottled European Ale #10 two days ago since I didn’t do a secondary fermentation.  I’ll be able to do a nice taste comparison since they will both be in the bottles for about the same amout of time.  The recipes were slightly different but the yeasts were the same.

Now I have quite a bit of beer in the garage!

UPDATE:  I left it in secondary for 5 weeks.  I bottled it on July 25.  We’ll see how it turns out!

This is excellent.  Very crisp and smooth.  My friends like this one.  This is probably the crispest beer I have made yet.  It also has beautiful color and a nice head.   I might not be judging fairly myself because it has been hot and cold beer is soooo good at the end of a hot day.  5:00, no earlier.

This is really good.  I think that this is my favorite recipe yet.  Note to myself.


Leave a Reply

