Brewess

The Blog for Women Who Brew Beer

My Next Beer: Kolsch #12

Posted by Maggie on July 1, 2010

This is what I will be brewing next week for a three gallon batch:

  • 2 lbs Gambrinus Organic Pale Ale Malt (Barley)
  • 2 lbs Organic DME
  • Hops:  1/2 oz. Cascade at 60 minutes, 1/2 oz. Liberty at 10 minutes
  • Yeast:  White Labs Kolsch

Usually I use 1 lb barley and 3 lbs DME.   I’ll see how this comes out.  I got a larger pot, 16 quarts,  to make this so I can have more water and the larger bag of barley.

My beer stocks will be low after the family 4th of July gathering.  I’m glad that #8 is gone and I can bring my in-laws delicious #9 and super-delicious #10!  Both of my brother-in-laws used to brew beer but much stronger than I am making.  They were into stouts and dark, bitter, experimental ales.  Whew – I could barely drink that stuff!  They liked it.  I am sure my beer would taste too meek for them.  Who knows.  My father-in-law likes it.  Last time he visited he asked for a few bottles to bring back with him.  That was nice.

Last night I somewhat replaced food with beer.  I was home late from work, stopped at a friend’s to pick up my daughter, drank some wine.  By the time I got home it was 8:45 and who wants to cook dinner then?  So I had a beer and some pita chips and humus.  Great combination.

Leave a Reply

