Brewess

The Blog for Women Who Brew Beer

Belgian Ale #13

Posted by Maggie on September 3, 2010

I have never used Belgian Ale yeast before so I thought that I would give it a try.  This is what I am brewing now.  The ingredients are for a three gallon batch.

  • 1 lb. Belgian Pale Ale malt
  • 1 lb. Munich Malt (smells like Honey malt)
  • 2 lbs. Pilsner DME
  • Belgian Ale Yeast WLP570
  • .75 oz. Liberty hops @ 60 minutes
  • .25 oz. Cacade hops @ 60 minutes
  • 1 oz. Fuggle (organic) @ 10 minutes

I liked that crispness and clean flavor of the Kolsch #11 so much that I plan to put this in a secondary fermentor after 2 weeks in primary.  It is more work but the flavor improvement might be worth it.  It might make a difference what yeast is used.  Maybe the secondary doesn’t make a big difference with Belgian Ale yeast.   Luckily, I have many years of beer brewing ahead of me for experimentation.

Update:  I racked this to secondary after 12 days.  I will be bottling it in 18 days for a class.  It is a short secondary fermentation but should still affect the flavor and crispness.  I will let you know.

Leave a Reply

