Brewess

The Blog for Women Who Brew Beer

Belgian Ale #14

Posted by Maggie on September 15, 2010

I am going to use the yeast cake left from #13 and brew another Belgian ale, this one with less hops.  What I am brewing today for a three gallon batch:

  • 1 lb. organic Great Western Crystal 15
  • 1 lb. organic Gambrinus Pilsner Malt
  • 2 lb. Pilsner DME
  • 1/2 oz. organic Fuggle and 1/2 oz. Hallertau at 60 minutes
  • 1/2 oz. Hallertau at 10 minutes
  • Belgian Ale Yeast

I will leave this in primary for nine days and then move it into a secondary fermentation carboy.  I like #11 so much that I am going to keep using a secondary fermentation step.

Doesn’t this picture make my hand look enormous and the pot look tiny?  It looks like I am stirring a coffee cup.  Or else I am a giant.  No pictures of me on this site.  I’m 18 feet tall.  No wonder I need to brew so much beer.  I drink a gallon for breakfast.

I just racked this to a secondary carboy after two weeks in primary.  I tasted it and it was quite spicy like cinnamon and ginger, not hot.  It tasted like a holiday ale.  I’ll see how it tastes when it is ready.

I ended up leaving this in secondary for only a few days so my class could have practice bottling.  Oddly, it is better than #13 which was in secondary for two weeks.  It’s delicious.

Well, this is my first flat beer.  I added adequate primer but I added it to the bottling bucket after I siphoned in the beer thinking that it might solve my problem of uneven carbonation that was extremely evident with #12.  Instead I have found that the bottles I have opened thus far are too flat.  The flavor is still very interesting and it is still drinkable but I would like more bubbles.  Perhaps I can pass it off as: “Belgian ale is usually served cold and flat.”  It worked well with a bread I once made.  It didn’t rise at all and was like a brick.  I sliced it thinly and served it at a holiday party as ‘Bulgarian Christmas bread’, or something like that.  It was a big hit.   I’m sure that we will still drink this up.


Leave a Reply

