Brewess

The Blog for Women Who Brew Beer

Carbon Footprint of Home-brew and the New Definition of Local Foods and Drinks – 10 Feet

Posted by Maggie on January 8, 2011

I brew in the kitchen.  I bottle in the kitchen.  I drink most of the results in the kitchen, occasionally in the dining area (attached to the kitchen).   I want to add to the 100 mile and 10 mile definitions out there in the locavor movement with the 10 foot definition.  Everything is grown within 100 miles, purchased within 10 miles, made within 10 feet of consumption.

Much of the emphasis behind the local movement is the reduction of carbon footprints.  I am curious about the carbon footprint of my home-brew vs. other California brewed beer, like Trumer Pils which is brewed in Berkeley (and is DELICIOUS by the way).   I refill bottles, which is a big carbon saver both in bottle manufacturing and transport.  I usually walk to the brew shop to buy supplies.  But those supplies have to make it to the store via truck.   I use a lot of stove gas in the brewing process for a fairly small batch and I run the electric dishwasher for a long time for the bottles.  I include the ‘heated dry’ option.   Is there any carbon efficiency with brewing larger batches?  I’ll have to do some research on this.

One Response to “Carbon Footprint of Home-brew and the New Definition of Local Foods and Drinks – 10 Feet”

  1. I brewed with a friend who used to do 10-gallon batches and moved up to 27-gallon batches. The result was only an hour or two of extra time, almost three times as much beer, and saved money. Doing three 10-gallon batches would have cost way more than that. Bulk is better for sure.

Leave a Reply

