Brewess

The Blog for Women Who Brew Beer

English Ale #21

Posted by Maggie on October 24, 2011

I have a vomiting child at home so, well, I might as well make beer!  I am going to try White Lab’s WLP002 English Ale yeast.  It is described as creating a somewhat sweet beer.  That sound good to me.  Dry wine and sweet beer.  I am using Munich and Vienna Malt, Pilsen dry malt extract, and just a little Cascade and Hallertau.  I hope to get a nice, mild, pale ale.   We’ll see.  This is for a three gallon batch:

  • 3/4 lb organic Munich malt
  • 1/4 lb Vienna
  • 3 lbs Pilsen DME
  • 3/4 oz Cascade at 1 hour
  • 1/4 oz/ Hallertau at 5 minutes
  • WLP002 English Ale Yeast

Instructions: Bring 2.5 gallon of water to 170F.  Add grain in a cloth bag.  After soaking the grain for 40 minutes at 170 F or less, remove.  Bring to a boil.  Add DME.  Add first hops batch.  Boil for one hour, adding second hops batch five minutes before completion.  Put pot in the sink full of cold water and ice.  There is probably about 2 gallons in the pot now due to the boil.  Cool to about 100F.  Poor into sterilized carboy.  Add about one more gallon of cold water to the carboy to get three gallons total.  Add yeast.  Put on a airblock, cover with a dark cover (I use an old sweater), and put somewhere that is at least 70F (depending on your yeast).  

2 Responses to “English Ale #21”

  1. Carly Poff said

    I used the WLP002 yeast for my wee heavy (scotch ale) and the beer ended up super cloudy, but I’m afraid that I might have picked up a wild strain of something because I was using a 5 gallon plastic bucket (even though it was well sanitized, I fear the plastic has too high a risk for contamination). After that beer I’m switching to glass carboys, don’t want to risk another bad batch. I was surprised because I thought that particular yeast was supposed to be highly flocculent, I guess that might not have been due to the english ale yeast, though, but rather from the wild bug… bleh.

    • Maggie said

      I just bottled this ale today and it was very, very clear. I think that you might have had a contaminant. I ferment in a carboy. I think that it is easier to clean glass and I don’t like the idea of my beer sitting in plastic.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.