Brewess

The Blog for Women Who Brew Beer

Vanilla Soda

Posted by Maggie on November 27, 2011

After my great success with the root beer, I thought that I would try a vanilla soda (also known as cream soda but very different from the historic cream soda).  I sterilzed the bottling equipment and bottles and then used the following to make one case:

  • 2 gallons water
  • 1.5 oz. pure vanilla extract (the type used for baking)
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1/4 tsp yeast

I dissolved the yeast in some warm water and let it sit for five minutes.  I added the sugar to slightly warm water so that it would dissolve well.  Then I added the yeast mixture and the vanilla and then stirred and bottled.  I hope that it will come out well.  I will update when it is ready. 

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.